Standards Committee


MINUTES of a meeting of the Standards Committee held at Council Chamber, County Hall, Lewes on 18 April 2023.



PRESENT  Councillors Colin Belsey (Chair), David Tutt, Chris Collier, Penny di Cara, Philip Lunn, Wendy Maples and Paul Redstone


Councillors Bob Bowdler and Colin Swansborough





1.            Minutes of meeting held on 19 April 2022


1.1       It was RESOLVED to agree as a correct record the minutes of the last meeting of the Committee held on 19 April 2022.




2.            Apologies for absence


2.1       Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Hollidge, Howell, Barry Taylor and Georgia Taylor, Webb.


2.2       It was noted that Councillor Redstone was substituting for Councillor Hollidge, Councillor Lunn was substituting for Councillor Howell, Councillor di Cara was substituting for Councillor Barry Taylor, Councillor Maples was substituting for Councillor Georgia Taylor and Councillor Collier was substituting for Councillor Webb.




3.            Reports


3.1       A copy of the report referred to below is included in the minute book.




4.            Annual Report


4.1       The Committee considered a report by the Assistant Chief Executive that provided an update in relation to Member conduct issues and the work of the Standards Committee.


4.2       It was RESOLVED to:


1) note the report;


2) agree the report for submission to the County Council for consideration;


3) appoint Councillors Belsey, Georgia Taylor and Tutt to a Hearings Sub-Committee, and Councillor Barry Taylor as substitute; and


4) agree that no amendments were required to the Code of Conduct at this current time.